Essex 6 & 12 Stage Clubs Virtual Relay 3rd - 5th July 2020

Havering ladies came close to victory and the senior men placed sixth as club athletes tackled their second virtual competition at the weekend, an Essex club's relay competition organised by Woodford's Tom Beedell.

The ladies event saw athletes tacking six legs - two of 5 miles and four of 5km - and Havering pushed the Billericay squad all the way before having to settle for the runners up spot.  Ginte Bailey (19:07) posted the squad's fastest 5km leg, for fifth fastest overall, with Kate O'Neil's 19:26 effort seventh fastest. Robyn Matson (20:16) and Sophie Rand (20:29) were the other Havering 5km scorers.

On the long leg Morgan Campbell's 29:58 clocking for the 5 mile distance - was third fastest lady and Lydia Hallam posted a 31:11 leg for fifth fastest. The B team were 12th as Jade Edwards (22:27), Debbie Appleton (22:30), Clare Davies (22:49) and Tracy O'Neill (26:12) ran the 5km legs and Bella Woods (36:21) and Jo Sullivan (41:28) were the 5 mile contestants.

For teh men it was 12 lap contests comprising of six legs at each distance. James Connor posted a brilliant 24:18 on Friday for the lng 5 mile leg and no one was able to better that all weekend. Ben Davis (26:59), Rob Warner (27:15), Gavin Watts (27:48), Barry Smith (28:13) and James Stewart (29:45) were the other fastest club athletes on the long leg. On the short 5km leg  Sam Atkins' 16:50 run was 11th best overall and Jason Lendon's 17:20 made the top 20 fastest. Gavin Maley was not far behind with 17:14, with Rob Trevor coming home in 17:34, John Whitehead 17:48 and Martin Chester concluding the scoring six on 18:36 to place the team in sixth.

The B team, mainly comprising veterans, were 11th thanks to the long legs posted by John Barker (30:56), Steve Walker (31:46), Trevor Keys (32:43), Graham Hogan (32:49), Rob Dickenson (33:11) and Darren Priestley (34:11) with the 5km legs contributed by Matt Bland (18:50), Paul Berrett (19:27), Gary Atkins (20:19), Roy ~James (~21:01), Richard Rowe (21:23) and Jon Hart (25:25).