Southern Men's League Division 1 – Round 1 Mayesbrook Park 5th May 2007

Match Result
Position Club Total points League points
1 Exeter


2  Havering Mayesbrook AC


3 Chelmsford


4 Serpentine


5 Newham & Essex Beagles




Age proved no barrier as skipper Mark Bishop celebrated his first competition as a M40 veteran by inspiring the senior men to second place in their opening Southern League Div One fixture on home soil on Saturday.

The former GB International decathlete competed in seven individual events and both relays, winning the pole vault in 3.80m and B shot (11.85m) and rewriting the club's all-time veterans' lists in several events the process. 

His ageless B string pole vault partner, Stuart Tufton made it maximum points in the event improving his club M55 best to 3.40m while in the 1500m new veteran Matt Bland also improved the club best time by a M40 vet which had stood for over 25 years.

Maximum points came in the javelin as Bonne Buwembo and his coach Sam Harrison cleaned up with a double, with Sam going close to his best but Bonne's attempts at a big effort falling short. Rob Warner was close to his PB with a dominant steeplechase win as he dictated the pace and finished about 100m clear. Martin Chester ran his fastest for some time in finishing second in the B string.

There were some encouraging senior PBs. The improving James Murphy reduced his 400mH in second place and after a heavy fall in the sprint hurdles, which required medical attention, returned with a bandaged arm to contribute the fastest split in the 400m relay. The returning Leo Barker spun the discus out to a new career best just below 40m, and was third in the shot and second in the B high jump

The club's U20 contingent performed well against senior opposition. Anthony Williams was second in both long & triple jump A strings, while Vincent Lazaro won the B long jump, second in the B triple jump and set a 100m PB. PBs also fell to U20s Paul Adair (400m) and Luchien Anderson (400mH).

The squad was completed by Salvator Mutijima (400 & 800m), Rob Dickenson (1500m B) and Graham Pritchard & Tony Collins (5000m).

The second (of 6) rounds is at Eton on 19th June. 

Full  results - PDF


A STRINGS Pos. Time/Dist   B STRINGS Pos. Time/Dist
100 Vincent Lazaro (U20) 5 11.9 PB  100 Luchien Anderson (U20) 3 12.7
200 Luchien Anderson (U20) 5 24.4   200 Mark Bishop (M40) 5 25.2
400 Salvatore Mutijima 5 52.2   400 Paul Adair (U20) 4 52.5 PB
800 Salvatore Mutijima 3 2:01.0   800 Rob Warner 3 2:06.4
1500 Matt Bland (M40) 3 4:12.6   1500 Rob Dickenson 3 4:15.3
5000 Graham Pritchard 5 16:54.4   5000 Tony Collins 3 17:09.6
3000 s/c Rob Warner 1 9:49.1   3000 s/c Martin Chester 2 10:56.4
110H Mark Bishop (M40) 3 16.9 110H James Murphy DNF
400H James Murphy 2 58.4 PB  400H Luchien Anderson (U20) 3 64.3 PB
L.J. Anthony Williams (U20) 2 6.29 L.J. Vincent Lazaro (U20) 2 6.20
H.J. Mark Bishop (M40) 3 1.76

H.J. Leo Barker 2 1.55
T.J. Anthony Williams (U20) 2 12.74 T.J. Vincent Lazaro (U20) 2 12.29
P.V. Mark Bishop (M40) 1 3.80 P.V. Stuart Tufton (M55) 1 3.40
S.P. Leo Barker 3 11.96 S.P. Mark Bishop (M40) 1 11.85
D.T. Leo Barker 2 39.96 PB D.T. Mark Bishop (M40) 2 32.36
J.T. Bonne Buwembo (U20) 1 58.38 J.T Sam Harrison 1 54.37
H.T. Sam Harrison 4 26.24   H.T. Mark Bishop (M40) 2 24.34
4x100 Anthony Williams, Luchien Anderson, Vincent Lazaro, Mark Bishop  5 46.5
4x400 Rob Dickenson (55.9), James Murphy (51.9), Salvator Mutijima (52.5), Mark Bishop (55.7) 2 3:36.0