Eastern Young Athletes League, Welwyn Garden City, 9 July 2000


Havering Mayesbrook AC's combined under-17 girls' and boys' team guaranteed a fifth successive Eastern Young Athletes league title with a fine victory at Welwyn Garden City on Sunday.

Main rivals Bedford were surprisingly beaten into third place behind Hertford with the home club, Verlea, in fourth. Although there is still one more league match to come, the local club are home and dry and can now begin to look forward to the annual Trophy Final for the top six clubs at the Mayesbrook Arena in September.

The spirit displayed by the young athletes throughout the afternoon was typified by Noleen O'Leary who having injured an ankle in the u17 80m Hurdles, carried on with her Discus and Javelin commitments to gain valuable points. This same spirit was also demonstrated by the fact that English Schools' finalists Melanie Harrison, Sara Luck, Claire Sargent, Bob Thanda and Matthew Kelsey all returned from Sheffield in time to compete.

In the girls'u13 and u15 age groups, there were numerous winners. In the youngest age group Chloe van Wulven and Robyn Matson doubled-up to take the 70m Hurdles as did Emma Bonny and Laura Baker in the 200m and Charlotte Watkins and Robyn Delivett in the 800m. Baker had earlier won the 100m, Watkins took the 'B'string High Jump and Bonny had her second victory in the Long Jump. Finally in this age group, Charlotte Wood won the 'B'1500m and the 4 x 100m relay quartet (Bonny, Delivett, Baker and Samantha Day) were also successful.

For the u15s, sprinter Laura Jones took the 100m and 200m with Nicola Schofield taking the 'B' string events. In the 75m Hurdles, Claire Sargent and Danielle Ross were successful in the 'A' and 'B' strings respectively. Sara Luck was a winner in both the 1500m and High Jump events and Melanie Harrison and Caroline Smith doubled-up in the Discus. Finally, the 4 x 100m relay squad consisting of Jones, Schofield, Sargent and Ross were successful. The only individual winner in the u17 age group was Chelsea Harrison in the 'B' High Jump.

For the boys, Bob Thanda took the honours with victories in the 400m, Shot and Long Jump. Other winners in this age group included Mark Connelly (High Jump and 'B' Long Jump), Matthew Kelsey (100m and 200m), Adam Lee ('B' Shot and 100m), Peter Phillips ('B' 400m and High Jump), Terry O'Leary ('B' 80m Hurdles) with James Deane and Andrew Bright doubling-up in the 1500m. Finally, the 4 x 100m relay quartet - Thanda, Phillips, Lee and Kelsey - stormed to success.

In the u13 age group, newcomer Peter Tyler was successful on his debut in the 200m whilst Christian Newton went one better with wins in the 400m and Shot (a new personal best). Other winners were Andrew Luck (80m Hurdles), David Nefs (200m), Jay Ryan ('B' 800m) with Michael Jenkins and Ryan doubling-up in the High Jump.

For the u17s, Mark Gardiner was again in good form with wins in the 400m and Long Jump. Adrian Lunan took the 'B' 100m and 200m and Greg Smith was another double winner in the Shot and Javelin. Other winners in this age group were Andrew Tierney ('B' Discus) and Tom Melrose ('B' Shot) whilst Steven Prady and Trevor Walton (a new personal best) took both strings of the High Jump. Finally, the 4 x 100m team (Lunan, Gardiner, Smith and Andy Green) had a comfortable victory.

Final score  
Havering Mayesbrook 379.5 points
Hertford & Ware 300 points
Bedford 292.5 points
Verlea 265 points

For further information, Contact Doug Tierney - mailto:ttp.doug@tinyonline.co.uk